Thought of the Day: Sugar or Salt?

Many years back while working as an Information Tech for a small firm, I vividly remember one morning walking into a nearby cafe’ to grab a cup of coffee. After adding sugar (lots of sugar) and cream I headed back to my office, as I sat down to go over my daily work I couldn’t wait to take that first sip of “sugar” and coffee, for nothing starts off the day better than a sweet Cup of Joe. However as the first sip eased down my throat something jolted my taste buds which literally sent a shock through my body, my gag reflexes went into high-gear and forced me to spit everything out all over the office floor! It took me a few seconds to realize that the awful taste was actually SALT – a whole bunch of salt!! I briskly walked back to the cafe’ and informed them of the situation, and sure enough the owner said someone replaced the sugar dispenser with salt! He then gave me a free cup of coffee and I was on my merry ol’ way.

At that time I was not walking that narrow path with Christ, I did however attribute that situation to God as a punishment for arguing with my wife that morning though – hahaha!

In any case, this recollection of my true story really brought to light the idea of how many churches today have replaced the salt in God’s word with the sugar coating of feel-good messages. Though my account was opposite and the sugar was replaced with salt, the taste of salt is such a contrast to sugar that when unaware of the additive it can really send your taste buds on edge…Within Christianity however, the “salt” of God’s word will definitely send your “sinful ways” on edge.

The bible tells us: “You are the salt of the earth. But if the salt loses its saltiness, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled by men” (Matthew 5:13)

We are seeing so many Christian leaders who seem to have replaced their salt with sugar. Their messages are sweet, avoiding subjects such as: Hell, Sin, Obedience, Godly Living, Judgment, Conviction, and Repentance. This lack of God’s truths is evident within the people as well, with the popularity of Social Media websites we can literally see how we have grown to love the sweet tasting messages of God’s word, but avoid and sometimes even run from any messages that touches upon these subjects.

Maybe we need more people like the person in my story who replaced the sugar dispenser with salt behind the pulpits. Have we really grown so attached to the sweet messages of these popular pastors and leaders that every time we hear or read a message loaded with the “salt” of God’s truths and instructions, we feel like spitting it out?

I don’t wish my “Salty-Coffee” experience on no one, but in this comfortable, feel-good, happy-happy joy-joy, superficial Christianity we are seeing so much of today, maybe a salty-coffee experience is not so much of a bad idea (smile) 🙂

Think About It.

Leave a comment