Man-Pleasing

Though I wrote for him ten thousand precepts of My law, They are regarded as a strange thing.” (Hosea 8:12) “…Indeed, I came to HATE them there! Because of the wickedness of their deeds I will drive them out of My house! I WILL LOVE THEM NO MORE…” (v.9:15) “…their root is dried up, they will bear no fruit. Even though they bear children, I WILL SLAY the precious ones of their womb…My God will cast them away because THEY HAVE NOT LISTENED TO HIM…” (v.9:16-17)

Old Testament passages like these would probably be considered offensive, distasteful, and off-limits for the Pragmatic, “Feel-Good” movements of today. To even mention something like this in a man-pleasing church would be unthinkable! But here it is, black and white…written within the Words of our Lord.

The Pragmatic, Positive-Confession, Man-Pleasing, Christian-Psychology movements believe Christianity is not about the negative and offensive things God said, but only the uplifting and positive. They ironically label any negative thing God said as “Legalism” that only the Religious Hypocrites will enforce, yet profess “All-Scripture” is God Breathed”?!? They take things out of context and say: “God is Good, All the Time” yet when bad things happen, or if things don’t go their way…who do they blame? God…or like the Parable states: “…But since they have no root, they last only a short time. When trouble or persecution comes BECAUSE OF THE WORD, they quickly fall away.” (Matt. 13:21)

We all know that the Old Testament is filled with God’s Wrath poured out against the rebellious Israel people. However, as mature Christians we shouldn’t ignore it or refuse to teach it just because it makes someone feel uncomfortable or offended. As Paul mentioned to the church of Corinth regarding the Old Testament Scriptures, “…these things happened as EXAMPLES for us, so that we WOULD NOT CRAVE EVIL THINGS AS THEY ALSO CRAVED.” (1 Corinthians 10:6) Israel’s History, the entire Old Testament is for us to learn from, to keep us from setting our hearts on the evil things they did.

It was Jesus Himself who said: “If anyone is ASHAMED of me and my words in this adulterous and sinful generation, the Son of Man will be ashamed of him when he comes in his Father’s glory with the holy angels.” (Mark 8:38)…He also said: “IF YOU LOVE ME, you will KEEP My commandments.” (John 14:15)

We have grown into such “Man-Pleasers” that most of us don’t even know it. We profess our love for Him but refuse to teach everything He said, we publicly announce our devotion to Him yet are ashamed of His words, we attribute our blessings from Him yet decline our obedience to Him.

How desperately do we need more people like the Apostle Paul who stated: “On the contrary, we speak as men APPROVED by God to be ENTRUSTED WITH THE GOSPEL. We are not trying to PLEASE MEN but GOD, WHO TESTS OUR HEARTS.” (1 Thessalonians 2:4) “Am I now trying to win the approval of men, or of God? Or am I trying to please men? IF I WERE STILL TRYING TO PLEASE MEN, I WOULD NOT BE A SERVANT OF CHRIST.” (Galatians 1:10)

Are you a servant of Christ? Then let us put an end to pleasing man’s desires, saying the things they want to hear, and start PLEASING GOD. Do you love Christ? According to Jesus…

Anyone who LOVES ME will OBEY my teaching…Anyone who DOES NOT love me will NOT obey my teaching.” (John 14:23, 24)

Think About it.
Marc

Leave a comment