Jonah’s Excuse

When we think of Jonah most of us remember how he was swallowed by a large fish. However, when I think of Jonah I think of the ‘excuse’ he used when he fled from the presence of our Lord and chose NOT to deliver His Words…for it seems to illustrate the attitude we have today when it comes to God’s Word.

I’ve heard it many times before, when asked the question: “Why don’t you warn your family of their sins and false doctrines, or inform them of God’s Word?” the response is always: “God is a loving and compassionate God filled with kindness, grace and forgiveness, I’ll keep praying for them…”

In defense for his actions, this excuse is what Jonah used as well to justify before the Lord: “O LORD, is this not what I said when I was still at home? That is why I was so quick to flee to Tarshish. I knew that you are a gracious and compassionate God, slow to anger and abounding in love, a God who relents from sending calamity.” (Jonah 4:2)

If you think about it, what Jonah is saying here is: “I know you are good all the time, this is why I decided not to listen to you, this is why I fled to Tarshish, this is why I decided not to warn the people of their sinsI knew you was going to forgive them anyway…”

Like Jonah we know God is compassionate, gracious, and abounding in love, but we can’t use that as an excuse to not warn the people around us of their sins and false doctrines, and inform them of the truths of God’s word! It is because of this idea to think “God is good all the time” and “God’s going to forgive them anyway” that the very people around us are clueless to their sins and accepting of every wind of doctrine…and in Jonah’s case this is exactly why calamity came upon the ship and he ended up in the mouth of the fish.

In the end, when God decided to have compassion on the people and restrained His punishments Jonah became angry and displeased (Jonah 3:10-4:1) even to the point of wanting to die (4:3), however Jonah’s attitude only brought the Lord’s chastisement and rebuke (4:7-11).

Don’t be a Jonah. Think About it

Have a blessed day.
Marc

Leave a comment